April 8, 2018

    The Amador Martinez Triples is open to both women and men.  There were fourteen  teams from various clubs throughout So. Callifornia from Cambria to San Diego that competed.  Two teams plus were from Oxnard.  Skips set up their teams any way they want.  The entry fee is $75 per team.  Lunch is brown bag.  Morning snacks and salads and desserts were  provided at the lunch time.  Format is three 12 - end games, winners will be determined on the basis of wins, losses and plus points with a max 7 points per game. If there is a tie at the end of a game, one more end will be played only to break the tie.  If there is a tie at the end of the tournament total points will be used to break the tie.  There will be prizes for the first four teams. 
    We had many good players competing today, a number of which had competed successfully in both National and International Tournaments.
    Oxnard used Rule 56.5.1 and 56.5.3  in tournament play today.  This is when the jack is knocked out of bounds of play,  it is re-spotted on the rink centerline and two metres in from the front ditch and play continues on.  Note: We pre-marked all rinks at the two metre spot by using white golf tees placed flush to the surface of the green.

The food planning and set up was done primarily by Sandra Adame with Carol Smith, Kathy Corona, Pinky Palladino and Linda Westray also helping.  Food was also contributed by several others.
Joan Dawson took care of the scoreboard.

The teams and home clubs are listed below

1.  Bud Viard
Barry Pickup
Loren Dion
2.  Grant Gibson
Lou Cohen
Shelley Cohen
Mack, Nprt
3.  Scott Roberts
Art Roberts
Donna Roberts
Nprt, Oxnr
4.  Catherine Uribe
Angel Rocha
Rudy Uribe
Holm, Bevh
5.  Phil Dunn
James Flower
Terry Marr
6.  Kay Tong
Howard Horowitz
Alan Ngo
Stat, Bevh
7.  Rob Humphrey
Luke Wilson
Debi wilson
Camb, Oxnr
8.  Wuhwa Hsu
Peter Westray
Jack Bucey
9.  Anne Nunes
Bill Brault
Candy DeFazio
Sndg ,Long, Nprt
10. Steve Goodmanson
Gloria Brown
Sue Sullivan
Oxnr, Mack
11. Marty Bierman
Cory Vose
Cheryl Barkovich
Stmn, Bevh
12. Patricia Cronshaw
Roger Sullivan
Brent Boone
Mack, Stbr
13. Jim Cook
Ron Dawson
Cindy Cook
14. Rich Purcell
Mike Newton
Raul Perez

Wins, + Points
Rich Purcell, Mike Newton, Raul Perez
3W + 19
Anne Nunes, Bill Brault, Candy DeFazio
3W + 15
Steve Goodmanson, Gloria Brown, Sue Sullivan
3W + 8
Phil Dunn, James Flower, Terry Marr
2W + 11

Photos by  Bob Smith

Click above Picture to make larger

Sandra Adame, Pinky Palladino, Carol Smith, Linda Westray and Kathy Corona (not shown).
These ladies all helped with the kitchen duties.

Aero Bowls merchandise displayed by Howard Horowitz

Rudy Uribe bowls as Debi Wilson and Angel Rocha look on.

Roger Sullivan and Scott Roberts follow their delivered bowls.

Steve Goodmanson, Phil Dunn and Patricia Cronshaw

Patricia Cronshaw displays championship form.

Bowlers had lunch after the second game.

Catherine and Rudy Uribe with Cheryl Barkovich

Santa Barbara members enjoy lunch outside.

Bill Brault, Grant Gibson, Anne Nunes and Candy DeFazio

Joan Dawson at the scoreboard being aided by her husband Ron.
Shelley Cohen checking team positions.
This was Joan's first time doing the scoreboard and she did great.  Thanks for your help.

Candy DeFazio keeps her face well protected as she rolls her bowl.

Rich Purcell rolls his bowl on the way to 1st Place.
Nice going Rich!

Tournament Chairman Ron Dawson used a different style.

Brent Boone prepares to bowl.

Gloria Brown and Art Roberts watch as head develops.

And the four place winners were:
1st  Place: L-R   Mike Newton, Rich Purcell and Raul Perez

2nd Place:  L-R  Candy DeFazio, Anne Nunes and Bill Brault

3rd Place:  L-R  Gloria Brown, Steve Goodmanson and Sue Sullivan

4th Place:  L-R  James Flower, Phil Dunn and Terry Marr

Tournament Scoreboard

Thanks for coming and hope to see all of you back next year.